The Darwin Affair

Book Verdict
Print

The Darwin Affair

by

First Release:

September 2019

ISBN: 9781616206345

LONDON, JUNE 1860: When an assassination attempt is made on Queen Victoria, and a petty thief is gruesomely murdered moments later—and only a block away—Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field quickly surmises that these crimes are connected to an even more sinister plot. Was Victoria really the assassin’s target? Are those closest to the Crown hiding something? And who is this shadowy figure witnesses describe as having lifeless, coal-black eyes? Soon, Field’s investigation exposes a shocking conspiracy in which the publication of Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species sets off a string of murders, arson, kidnapping, and the pursuit of a diabolical madman named the Chorister. As the investigation takes Field from the dangerous alleyways of London to the hallowed halls of Oxford, the list of possible conspirators grows as the body count escalates. And as he edges closer to the Chorister, he uncovers dark secrets that were meant to remain forever hidden.

With ingenuity, intelligence, and wit, debut novelist Tim Mason has created a powerfully entertaining thriller. For fans of Caleb Carr and Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Darwin Affair is a rousing page-turner that both Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would relish and envy.

 
  • ISBN: 9781616206345
    Format: Print Book
    Edition: Hardcover edition
    Publisher: Algonquin (Adult)
    Page Count: 384
    Trim Size: 9" x 6"
    Genre: Fic
  • Book reviews from Junior Library Guild, School Library Journal, and The Horn Book Magazine are available to JLG Members only.

    Already a member? Click here to login.

Category Price

$242.20/year

14 books / $17.30 a book

Add ACT+ to Cart Add ACT+ to Wishlist

Print Book Price

List Price $27.95
JLG Member Price $0.00

Forthcoming September 2019

Add Book to Wishlist